Never say Never

This past week I did two things I never thought I would do again. 

First, I planned a wedding.  Then I found myself volunteering to sew the wedding gown.

Tuesday morning, a woman I hardly know came to my door, and informed me that she and her intended had to get married next month.  When I asked her what her plans were she said she had no idea what to do, or where to begin.  That is when I took over.  (Why do I do these things?)

By the end of the day we had 90% of the details settled, and I had volunteered to make her dream dress:  A blue, medieval gown. 

Now this is a big huge deal to me.  I have done custom sewing before, and most of it has been good, but then there have been some bad times:  Mostly related to weddings.  I have also helped with wedding planning in the past…Only to see the couple fall apart soon after.   Helping to make other peoples dreams come true has not seemed to be a good use of my time.

 The last dress I sewed for someone was a wedding dress.  A blue wedding dress.  I did a good job, the dress turned out just like it was suppose to, and the additions, to turn it from a day dress into a wedding gown looked just like the bride had drawn them.  Problem?  It wasn’t what she wanted.  To this day, I’m really not sure what she wanted.  She liked the muslin we trial ran the pattern with, said it was perfect, but ended up taking the final product to someone else.  From what I was told by those who attended the wedding, she had the “extras” removed.

So why am I willing to risk my pride and confidence over another blue dress? 

     Maybe because this woman knew just what she wanted, for the dress.  The only thing she knew when she came to my door.

     Maybe because my husband and I have been praying for this couple, hoping they will find God’s best for their lives.

     Maybe, as a chance to prove, to myself, that I can do it.

What ever the reason that drove me, I know this:  God had his hand in it. 

Last year, when these two people first came to the church we attend, I said I was not going to have anything to do with their wedding.  People often attend church when they are engaged, but drop out of fellowship soon after they get what they want.  I don’t want to be a part of that.  I want the work I do to count for eternity.  I want to reach out to people to draw them into a closer relationship with the Lord.  I don’t want to damage my children’s hearts by helping ungrateful, demanding people.  I pray that this will not be one of those times. 

I pray that God’s glory will shine through, and that lives will be changed for the better, including mine.

0 Responses to “Never say Never”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

May 2008
S M T W T F S
    Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Dreaming…

"Delight thyself also in the Lord; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart. Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him, and he shall bring it to pass." ~Psalm 37:4 & 5

Confident Endeavors

"If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours."

- H.D. Thoreau


