Of Mice and Men

 Last week I took my children to the library.  While waiting for them to make their selections, I browsed the adult section.  There, I found Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck.  Now, this is a title I have heard of for as long as I can remember…but its contents never seemed to make it into any conversation, so, having no clue what it was about, I undertook to read it.

The book summery begins, “An intimate portrait of two men who cherish the slim bond between them and the dream they share in a world marred by petty tyranny, misunderstanding, jealousy, and callousness…”   Of Mice and Men, written in 1937, is everything the summery claims, and only 100 pages.  It is also a tale of pending doom.  While never quite sure what turn the story will take next, I knew things cannot go as planned.  There are mini cycles of repeated history, and friendship born out of decency and responsibility.  I liked the honesty of emotion portrayed, the male sensibility, hope and fear.  Times were different in the 1930’s.  Things were done differently then than they are today.  I didn’t like the outcome…not that it could be helped…it is what makes the story.

The overall take was gripping, but not one I would take time to read with my husband.  However, I have placed it on my homeschool reading list, for when the boys are in high school. 

If you have ever wondered about this story, satisfy your curiosity, and read it.

 

1 Response to “Of Mice and Men”


  1. 1 Misty Baltensperger August 9, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    I really want to sit here and read all your blogs, but I’m not going to. Later, I tell myself. I laugh at your husband’s “name,” Manny. Cute, Laura Ingalls.


Leave a Reply

July 2008
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Dreaming…

"Delight thyself also in the Lord; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart. Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him, and he shall bring it to pass." ~Psalm 37:4 & 5

Confident Endeavors

"If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours."

- H.D. Thoreau


