Socks–I’m Learning!

I knit my swatch, checked my gage, reviewed my patterns, and began on a pair of socks for Manny.  At first, everything looked great, but after about ten rows, they began looking a little small.  Twenty rows…really small.  I put them away, thinking I would check them out, compared to Manny’s leg, when he got home…

As the day progressed, I knew they would not fit him.  I would either have to rip them out, and start over, or make them for someone else.  That evening, Manny tried my beginnings on, and sure enough, they would not even go over his heal.  He smiled, and said, “Thank you Honey, for thinking of me, but these had better be for Benjamin.”  I couldn’t have of agreed more. 

So what went wrong?  First of all, the patterns I have are obviously made for very skinny men.  Second, they are designed to be 7″ socks, not the knee socks, my husband loves.  Third, my gage was off.  I guess, from here on out, I will have to knit in a round to make my gage, for round knitting.  I didn’t know my knitting changed that much from flat to round.  Oh well.  Benjamin loves them…he would wear them all the time, if I wasn’t making him wait until winter to use them; and starting over would not have been all that bad.  Just more learning experience.  Think of it as a class, where you don’t necessarily produce something you really want, but you come away with the skills to make what ever you want.  🙂

0 Responses to “Socks–I’m Learning!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

October 2008
S M T W T F S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Dreaming…

"Delight thyself also in the Lord; and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart. Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him, and he shall bring it to pass." ~Psalm 37:4 & 5

Confident Endeavors

"If one advances confidently in the direction of his dreams, and endeavors to live the life he has imagined, he will meet with a success unexpected in common hours."

- H.D. Thoreau


